The Chronicle named best in state for fourth year


Halie Parkinson

The Chronicle took home a total of 16 awards, including first place in General Excellence, during the annual Illinois College Press Association convention and award ceremony Feb. 15 and 16. 

By Ariana Portalatin

The Chronicle took home first place in General Excellence from the Illinois College Press Association for the fourth year in a row, once again establishing it as the No. 1 non-daily newspaper in Illinois.

The ICPA holds an annual convention and award ceremony for college publications in the state, which The Chronicle attends each year to learn from industry professionals and receive critiques and awards for content published in the previous year. During this year’s convention, held Feb. 15 and 16, The Chronicle received a total of 17 awards.

Chronicle staff also received a first place award for a Feb. 12, 2018, staff editorial, and former co-senior photo editors Kevin Tiongson and Mackenzie Crosson won first place for a March 12, 2018, photo essay documenting 24 hours in a 24-hour diner. Former creative director Samantha Conrad won first place for front page layout, and current graphic designer Patrick Casey won first place for his design of a Sept. 17, 2018, sports feature.

Tiongson also won a second place feature photo award for a photo taken during the Jan. 20, 2018, Women’s March in Chicago. Managing Editor Blaise Mesa was awarded second place for an April 14, 2018, sports column.

The Chronicle won numerous third place awards, including one for its online news site. Managing Editor Molly Walsh placed third in the critical review category for a March 26, 2018, theater review. The Chronicle placed third in two advertisement categories, one to former graphic designer Jocelyn Moreno for an advertisement less than a full page and another to Ad and Business Manager Micha Thurston for a full-page advertisement. Editor-in-Chief Ariana Portalatin was also awarded third place in the in-depth reporting category for a Dec. 11, 2018, Chronicle article.

The Chronicle received its first multimedia reporting award since 2010 for Tiongson’s video coverage of the Jason Van Dyke murder trial. Tiongson received and honorable mention for the video taken during his semester as a multimedia reporter. Current Senior Photo Editor Mike Rundle received an honorable mention in the feature photo category for an Oct. 29, 2018, concert photo. Former staff reporter Olivia Deloian also received an honorable mention for a March 26, 2018, article. 

To see a full list of awards, visit